The Student Room Group

Study abroad in Hull or Portsmouth?

I'm an American Grad student looking to study abroad for my masters and I really like the looks of the programs at both University of Hull and University of Portsmouth. I'd be studying creative writing. I'm in my mid-30s, and looking for a place with a good creative/artistic scene.
Original post by kshae21
I'm an American Grad student looking to study abroad for my masters and I really like the looks of the programs at both University of Hull and University of Portsmouth. I'd be studying creative writing. I'm in my mid-30s, and looking for a place with a good creative/artistic scene.

I'd say Portsmouth. To be honest, neither city is known for its beauty.... quite the opposite to be honest. But it's the course that matters like you say.

When I think creative scene, I think Bristol, Nottingham, Sheffield...
Reply 2
I'll look around a bit more. I'm also looking at programs in Scotland. But Hull is very affordable and Portsmouth Uni looks to have a really good program. I also like the Portsmouth isn't too far from London. I've never been to the UK so I have nothing to base it on.
Moved to a more relevant forum
(Original post by kshae21)I'm an American Grad student looking to study abroad for my masters and I really like the looks of the programs at both University of Hull and University of Portsmouth. I'd be studying creative writing. I'm in my mid-30s, and looking for a place with a good creative/artistic scene.

Both are beautiful but I'll describe each as best as I can as I am familiar with both.