The Student Room Group

Quick question-would appreciate your opinions!

Hey,

I am a mature student, currently studying on an Access to HE course at Birkbeck College, UOL...

I have applied to Harris Manchester college to read Law and so far only received an acknowledgment (like most of us here I guess:smile:)

Anw, my tutor has suggested sending in an updated reference to them sometime next week, before they send out their interview/rejection letters, and asked to me email the admissions tutor at the college to ask whether they would accept it..

So I did and got an email approximately few hours later stating that they would be "very pleased to have an updated reference etc."

I will admit that this has given me (probably false) hope, as I have arrived to the reasoning that if they would have already put my application aside as worthless (a definite no-no in other words), they wouldnt bother asking for that second reference...I know this is just an assumption, maybe even a silly one, but I would love it if people would give me their honest opinions on this...

P.S. You can probably tell I am very very worried over all of this :confused:
Reply 1
Hmm, to be honest, I wouldn't read too much into this if I were you.
Reply 2
But if you don't send it, you'll never know. How old are you, if you don't mind me asking?
It's just a polite way of saying "OK, send us the updated reference, then." Don't read anything into it.

DtS
Reply 4
talon1579
But if you don't send it, you'll never know. How old are you, if you don't mind me asking?

22...will be 23 when starting uni next year (hopefully)
Reply 5
Yeh, if they've said you should send one in... they might think.... 'idiot... or sumin like that' but it wont affect you at all cause its the refernce they're looking at :biggrin:

Jez
Reply 6
Jez_249
Yeh, if they've said you should send one in... they might think.... 'idiot... or sumin like that' but it wont affect you at all cause its the refernce they're looking at :biggrin: