The Student Room Group

Easy things to make at University

What are easy things to make at uni in order to gain wait etc?
Im new to cooking and its time to learn.
Overdose on white rice- its pretty easy to make just make sure you wash it before cooking it. White rice especially leads to weight gain :wink:
You can try making fried rice or make some sort of curry on the side.
Commenting to know as well
Hey,

I cook a lot of pasta dishes easy to prepare and cook. Also super cheap.
I also cook a lot of chicken and rice dishes
You can find loads of recipes on the internet, I would say just have a look through and see what you like.

Rebecca :smile:
Hi @Tz4ey,

I used a really useful book called the one-pot student cookbook that I picked up from Amazon for about £6.

I found it was full of really useful recipes and helped me plan my meals, but they were also friendly for my budget as well. I also liked that it could all be cooked in one pot which meant there was very little washing up to do.

You might be able to find something similar for free online and have a look through the recipes and see what you would be confident making at the start and then develop your skill along the way. There will be lots of other students new to cooking so it might also be worth looking out to see if your uni does any cooking groups/cook-alongs that would help you pick up some skills.

Have a great uni experience

Luke - Portsmouth Student Rep
Original post by Tz4ey

Hi :smile:

I would suggest trying to make a search on youtube for batch cooking, I found it really useful as a student to learn how to cook all my meals for a week and not have to think about it anymore :smile:

Alternatively, they might be a cooking society at your university that you could join to learn how to make new things :smile:

Robin
Final year MSc student at the University of Lincoln
(edited 1 year ago)
Jamie Oliver has some fantastkc recipes :thumbsup: I used the Nosh for students in first year :yep: