The Student Room Group

Where to apply with a poor UCAT score

Hi - I have a bad UCAT score of 2550 - a bad day :frown:I have 10x9's at GCSE and am predicted 3 A*'s at A level- Bio, Chem and Psych. I have some work experience that is medicine related as well as volunteering, coaching, mentoring, caring etc and play sport (hockey/cricket) to a high level. Am I right in thinking the only med schools I can consider with this score are HYMS, Kent and Medway, Keele, Sunderland and Plymouth?? Is Cardiff worth a shot? and what about UEA - worth an application? and I read that Exeter only place 25% weighting on UCAT - but I find this very hard to believe? Thanks in advance @ganfydd and any others that reply - very grateful as wondering if best to take a year off ....thanks all
BMAT unis and any that put less weighting on the UCAT for scoring your application. GCSE heavy unis which put less emphasis on the UCAT would probably be a good option because you have very strong GCSEs. Likewise GCSE heavy unis using the BMAT (e.g. Oxford) would potentially be a good option.
Reply 2
Original post by vkl
Hi - I have a bad UCAT score of 2550 - a bad day :frown:I have 10x9's at GCSE and am predicted 3 A*'s at A level- Bio, Chem and Psych. I have some work experience that is medicine related as well as volunteering, coaching, mentoring, caring etc and play sport (hockey/cricket) to a high level. Am I right in thinking the only med schools I can consider with this score are HYMS, Kent and Medway, Keele, Sunderland and Plymouth?? Is Cardiff worth a shot? and what about UEA - worth an application? and I read that Exeter only place 25% weighting on UCAT - but I find this very hard to believe? Thanks in advance @ganfydd and any others that reply - very grateful as wondering if best to take a year off ....thanks all

Keele normally have a lower UCAT cut off but you have to fill out an R&R form