Turn on thread page Beta

Apologies if this turns into an essay. FYI: I'm a 21 year old female and i'm pretty sure i suffer from depression. I am a medical student so although i know roughly what i'm talking about, please don't assume i'm a hypochondriac.

Basically ever since i was a teen i have suffered with it. I don't really want to go into too many of my problems, so apart from the normal symptoms to do with your mood, i have put on a large amount of weight in the last few years through anxiety and binge eating, and have suffered from sleep troubles for as long as i can remember (takes me ages to get to sleep and i sleep a lot, and i nap in the day too). I'm not depressed all the time- sometimes if i'm with friends i can come out of it and people often see me laughing and think i'm absolutely fine. But on the inside i'm just screaming.

When i was 15/16 i used to self harm. Quite a lot- like on a daily basis. I managed to quit through willpower at 16 but i still fantasise about doing it now, 5+ years later. At the time my mum found out she took me to the GP but i clammed up. I was offered counselling but refused it- my pride got in the way.

About a year ago i went to the GP on my own about my sleeping problems, and she said it sounded like i had either an anxiety problem or OCD (due to my rituals before i sleep.) She offered counselling too (which i never went to, again, my pride) and refused to offer me sedatives until i had tried the counselling.

Now i've got to a point where i'm sick of it. It's been about 8 years now and i've NEVER felt normal. My mood swings are pretty bad, i can turn on people in a second. I'm horrible to my boyfriend sometimes and my sex drive is non existant now. I'm not a social person so i don't see friends much and i seem to spend a lot of time on my own which i thought was normal, but apparently not.