Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

I'm new to playing and currently in a small band playing drums. Never had a lesson in my life. I seem fine with everything else. I'm just wondering, is there any particular technique used in drum rolls?

I can't seem to do the longer ones (sorry I hardly know any terminology)

What works for you?

ReputationRep:
    Tip: Start off slowly. Just doing a simple LRLRLRLRLRLR, repeat it loads of times gradually building up speed. Build the speed up of the LRLRLRLRLRL..... to the point where you can't go any faster. At that point return to the speed you're comfortable with and repeat that for a while.

Speed up again etc....

Also, make your strokes very "eccentric" and wild bringing your sticks up to more than a 45 degree angle to the drums - When doing it slowly. When doing it fast you have permission to make hard little strokes

Cool

Thanks dude

I'll do when I can get near the drums again lol

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Loz17)
    Cool

Thanks dude

I'll do when I can get near the drums again lol
    No problemo.

I felt like a tit doing the accentuated strokes but it really helps to get the initial technique right.

(Original post by Olibert)
    No problemo.

I felt like a tit doing the accentuated strokes but it really helps to get the initial technique right.
    Lol dont worry, the onlt time i ever get to practice is in a room with at least 3 other people so dw

ReputationRep:
    My friend plays the drums for our church music group and he's always being told off for not holding the drum sticks properly! So make sure you do that

(Original post by Redpanda91)
    My friend plays the drums for our church music group and he's always being told off for not holding the drum sticks properly! So make sure you do that
    Lol

I hate the 'standard' technique to hold the stick, its not comfy, but is good though

Same for traditional

If you understand that lol

ReputationRep: