The Student Room Group

How do you excel in English?

Hello everybody! Nice to meet you! I'm Immy and I'm a Year 11 student.
My grades so far have been excellent. Pretty much all of my grades are predicted grades are 9s and 8s. I aspire to go very far and I feel like I have all the talent to do so. I just have one major flaw, English Language and Literature.

I honestly don't know what to do in this subject. I'm above average in English (6s and 7s) but I just wanna know how I can excel in this subject and push myself into 8s and 9s territory. I feel like I lack creativity in this subject as I'm more of a logical thinker. I feel ridiculously stupid in an English classroom and I'm just about clinging to top set.

Do any have any tips on how to get better at English?

(Also, this is my first post so I'm sorry if posting this in the wrong place)
Original post by _immy
My grades so far have been excellent. Pretty much all of my grades are predicted grades are 9s and 8s. I aspire to go very far and I feel like I have all the talent to do so. I just have one major flaw, English Language and Literature.

I honestly don't know what to do in this subject. I'm above average in English (6s and 7s) but I just wanna know how I can excel in this subject and push myself into 8s and 9s territory. I feel like I lack creativity in this subject as I'm more of a logical thinker. I feel ridiculously stupid in an English classroom and I'm just about clinging to top set.

For English language, I’d recommend trying some practise questions and past papers. I’d also suggest trying to learn some advanced vocabulary which you can use for most/all topics as this might help to get you those higher marks, especially in section b on the paper.

Which texts are you studying for English literature?