Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Delete please.

ReputationRep:
    Hi Ed

I enclose this:
    http://www.cam.ac.uk/admissions/unde...forms/csas.pdf

The information regarding whether you'd be eligible is in the grey box.
    I'm really not an expert- however 2 of my best friends are at cambridge now and I know a little about the process. It seems like you would be eligible to apply through it, according to the second part.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by ed_matthews)
    While I know that no-one here is an admissions tutor, and therefore cannot really give a definitive answer as to my circumstances I was hoping someone might instruct me as to whether I should apply through the CSAS next October.

Essentially the reason I think I may qualify is that my father died while I was at school and as a result I suffered from unipolar depression for nearly 2 years. This all came on in January of Year 11 and my school recommended I didn't take my GCSEs that year, which I did not.

The following year whilst still suffering depression I began attending a local college to do my GCSEs (I could only do 3), unfortunately my results were not as impressive as I could have achieved and I got BCC. The following year I took another 3 GCSEs to get me over the so called magic five in which I got A*A*A.

I am now studying my AS subjects (and A2 english after getting an A at AS last year) and am predicted to get AAA by the completion of all my courses.

My only family member with a degree going back a couple of generations is my mum who went to Warwick.

So, if anyone could enlighten me as to how the system might deal with me that'd be just lovely.

Thankyou.
    She went to Warwick; there's your problem.

I believe the access scheme is only open for candidates with a family background that hasn't been in further education.

ReputationRep:
    Yeah, the second criteria's what I'd go for.
    I guess you're applying next year then?