The Student Room Group
Learning at Imperial College London
Imperial College London
London

Imperial Earth Science - What to include in personal statement?

I am applying to Geography to many London universities and Oxford. I am also applying to Imperial for Earth and Planetary Science, and I was wondering what to include so my PS stands out.
Well, my suggestion is to read as many books as you can. To be sure, geography is related to planetary sci. However, they are fundamentally different in that they have different tools. Geography comprises of both natural and physical part, as well as the focus on human, economics and politics. Earth/ geoscience use mathematical modeling and statistics tool more. However, applying to IC doesn't require a particularly strong base in physical science. i studied AS geo and was predicted A for A2. Personally speaking, getting a good grasp of AS and A2 geo can help you do well in IC interview. In terms of Oxford Geography, I didn't had the experience as I was writing in Earth science. However, I wrote about some climate change issue, as well as a geographical information system project I done in year 12. In the end, I reflected on the power of geoscience to change our human progress in planetary evolution and the importance of consideration of biological effect in fossil fuel consumption. .
Learning at Imperial College London
Imperial College London
London
Reply 2
Original post by wegetit
I am applying to Geography to many London universities and Oxford. I am also applying to Imperial for Earth and Planetary Science, and I was wondering what to include so my PS stands out.

Might be too late for this, but might be helpful for people in the following years.