The Student Room Group

Self-studying student. What A-level's and boards should I pick for Oxford/Cambridge

Hello,

I am hoping to study either Chemistry or Computer Science (undecided) at Oxford or Cambridge.

I was planning to study:
Chemistry
Mathematics
Computer Science

My question is:
1) As a private student I can pick my exam boards, should I pick all the same board and does it matter which boards? I will need it to be practical to actually take the exams ideally close to Plymouth.
2) Any recommendations on where/how to best sit the exams?
3) Does Mathematics, Chemistry, Computer Science appropriately cover studying either Chemistry or Comp Sci at the above uni's?

Any general advice from anyone who has done the same would be great.

Thanks in advance,
Original post by Boykes
Hello,

I am hoping to study either Chemistry or Computer Science (undecided) at Oxford or Cambridge.

I was planning to study:
Chemistry
Mathematics
Computer Science

My question is:
1) As a private student I can pick my exam boards, should I pick all the same board and does it matter which boards? I will need it to be practical to actually take the exams ideally close to Plymouth.
3) Does Mathematics, Chemistry, Computer Science appropriately cover studying either Chemistry or Comp Sci at the above uni's?

Thanks in advance,

Hi, for the first question - yes exam boards do matter because certain exam boards are easier than others depending on the subjects you take
Reply 2
For maths i would choose edexcel, purely because it is the one done by the most people and therefore has the most resources available, also has very good textbooks.
Didn't take the other two so can't really comment on what exam boards.

I would suggest trying to take further maths as a 4th or in place of computer science if you are aiming for oxbridge. For computer science specifically cambridge list it as strongly recommended whilst oxford as recommended. If you decide to go for chem it will still be very useful.