The Student Room Group

Uni Life in Manchester, Nottingham or Keele

Hey! I'm a year 13 student looking to do Psychology and Neuroscience and I'm looking at Unis like Manchester, Nottingham or Keele; I'm just looking for any sort of info about people's experiences at these Unis and how social life is/was like. I do want to prioritise social life and student satisfaction rates when it comes to picking out a Uni so please let me know, thanks! :smile:)
Reply 1
Wow, this was really helpful- its definitely eased my nerves a bit haha! I'll look into Manchester Uni a bit more then, thank you so much!
@04MR17 went to Keele for undergrad I believe, and @mnot I think was at Nottingham, so may be able to advise on aspects of student life in each area respectively?

Of those Manchester is the biggest city so likely to have the most "metropolitan" experience. Nottingham is a bit smaller but it's not too far from other cities in the midlands for day trips elsewhere. I think Keele is a bit more remote but don't really know much about it honestly!
Original post by rektbitx
Hey! I'm a year 13 student looking to do Psychology and Neuroscience and I'm looking at Unis like Manchester, Nottingham or Keele; I'm just looking for any sort of info about people's experiences at these Unis and how social life is/was like. I do want to prioritise social life and student satisfaction rates when it comes to picking out a Uni so please let me know, thanks! :smile:)

Keele - fantastic three years there, fantastic community, very good student support services (including Mental Health).
Keele's Student Union are leagues better than another large city university that I went to. Network of societies is very healthy.

It is the largest campus university in Europe - which means green everywhere, no train station, no bustling city that you will get in Manchester and Nottingham. My advice is to visit the open days of all 3, see which one feels better in your gut.

Everyone has a different experience.