The Student Room Group

How to answer this 25 marker

* Many firms seek to maximise growth.
Evaluate whether the main influence on the size of a firm over time is economies of scale. (25)

Its my first time trying to attempt a 25 marker however I don't know what to write about or structure it.(its a bit of a mess)
Reply 1
Definitions relating to the point (economies of scale and/or growth)
Point - motivate the topic
Diagram - relating to the definition and point
Describe the diagram and any shifts
Consequences of the point
Evaluate - Worth 25% of the marks in 25 Markers so should be about a quarter of your paragraph
& Repeat
Reply 2
That's a tough question, IMO. You could potentially throw in almost anything on the syallbus? And it's always harder to do evaluation when you've got no source material to draw on?
Reply 3
As an A* (predicted) A-Level Economics student, whose average score on 25 markers is 21/25 I would recommend first determining what your PERSONAL opinion actually is. For the sake of example, let me say that I believe that economies of scale are not the main factors influencing the size of firms. I believe that these factors are: the availability of labor and the nature of business. Then adhere to the following structure:

1. ALWAYS DRAW A DIAGRAM