The Student Room Group

dropping out of university

hey,

so I'm a first year student who goes to a uni outside of London whilst my parents live in London, I was Brought up very close to my family and this is the first ever time I've been alone, my parents are a 4 hour 30 min drive away from me... Ive been at uni since September and ever since then I've been going back and forth to London due to the fact that I miss my family and friends and this has had a massive impact on my mental wellbeing, thats why I was thinking of dropping out of university and moving back home to a London uni (after first year at my current uni), this is because I think being at home would help my mental health improve and I could maybe go to a London university. however there are some cons of me coming home... the uni I currently go to is a Russel group university and if I did want to go to a London university it wouldn't be a Russel group and not even a top 20 non Russel group university and I would be a little embarrassed to say that I went to this uni then dropped out to go to a worse uni in London.. I wanted to ask for advice on what I should do cause at this point I'm actually sick of university and every single aspect of it.

furthermore I was set like 3 essays the first day of uni without the lecturers even talking about the course I heard essay after essay and I don't even know how to write an essay or even how to reference (Harvard style)... please also help with this.

thanks,
anonymous
Hi,
Before I go into detail disclaimer that this is my opinion only and you should do as you see fit bc we're different ppl who see things differently so what works for me might not work for you and viceversa.