The Student Room Group

I hate my classmates but unfortunately I have to put up with them

Hello, so I’m a student in Economics and my struggle at University is severe. Since I want to move to UK and start an academic career there I have no other option but to obtain a degree so completing my course is essential. I’m the only one in the whole class (and possibly the whole undergrad) who solely wants to peruse a scientific career and cares about economics as a science not a way to earn money. Usually, the teaching quality is not up to any standards and in the past I have complained to the dean countlessly which may have put me in the position to be the black sheep which is something that I didn’t anticipate (but should’ve foreseen). I tried to befriend some people but I couldn’t put up with their ****, ranting about how they will be in the 1% when they graduate, or the other case was about a classmate of mine who was only talking about clubbing and didn’t even know the names of the subjects. They were talking about what an amazing life they will have, how they will do wonders in economics but were so dumb and bad in maths so I couldn’t foresee how this would’ve worked. I’m constantly in their mouths, they talk behind my back, discuss me during the lectures when I ask questions and behave as if I’m the main attraction. Even thou you may not be able to help me I would like to receive some support from people in similar situations.
Tnx
I'm sorry that your situation isn't a good one, honestly I can think of two options
1) try and ignore them and make friends with people on another course which I'm not saying will be easy but maybe it might help
2) transferring university to do economics at a different uni
Original post by Anonymous