The Student Room Group

Does Oxford PPE require A level history

I’m currently an Y12 student studying A levels in an international school in China. Our school offers A level history, but sadly I didn’t choose it. My current subjects are Maths, economics and biology.
I’ve read a lot of history books and I’m very interested in history as well.
Is A level history a very important part when it comes to applying to this course?
Does not choosing A level history decrease my application competitiveness a lot?
If I did well on my TSAs but didn’t choose A level history, is there still a fair possibility that I would still get in?
What do Oxford say about this on their PPE webpage?
they say history may be helpful but it's not essential so you should be fine

have a read of this:
https://www.ox.ac.uk/admissions/undergraduate/courses/course-listing/philosophy-politics-and-economics
Reply 3
here’s what I found on their course listing:

“It is recommended for candidates to have studied Mathematics to A-level, Advanced Higher, Higher Level in the IB or another equivalent.

You may apply for PPE having done any combination of subjects at school; it is not necessary to have studied Politics, Philosophy or Economics. History can provide a useful background, but is not essential.”

basically yes, you’re fine!
It is marked green(It says that its helpful-- Might be useful on course
Thank you guys a lot!
it says that it's helpful but not essential, i think (so no worries if you don't have it it won't count against you) - but if you're interested in doing a level history is it too late to switch/add a 4th now?
Original post by qiqi7777777
I’m currently an Y12 student studying A levels in an international school in China. Our school offers A level history, but sadly I didn’t choose it. My current subjects are Maths, economics and biology.
I’ve read a lot of history books and I’m very interested in history as well.