The Student Room Group

Exercise

Hi can’t anyone help or recommend anything? I’m a full time nursing student second year and a single parent and have a part time job so nearly every hour of my life everyday is taken up. I really want to lose weight but can’t find the time for the gym, can anyone recommend anything I could buy for the home I was looking at a portable treadmill? Or any other suggestions?
Original post by Whatsit
Hi can’t anyone help or recommend anything? I’m a full time nursing student second year and a single parent and have a part time job so nearly every hour of my life everyday is taken up. I really want to lose weight but can’t find the time for the gym, can anyone recommend anything I could buy for the home I was looking at a portable treadmill? Or any other suggestions?

Cardio is important, but I don't think a treadmill is worth the investment.

Have you looked into any specifc exercise programs as opposed to just doing random exercises? If you haven't, it's a good place to start because you would need to account for your diet as well as your exercise regiment.

If you're just looking to lose weight, often a few dumbells, a bench, and pull up rack are enough. If you want recommendations on specific programs, let me know.
Reply 2
I have a set of dumbbells
Cheapest option is getting a half decent pair of running shoes and doing the couch to 5k programme. there's a free app that helps you do it

for losing weight, it's more to do with what you eat than what you burn. Eating a bit less/ eating more filling foods/ drinking less alcohol (whichever applies best for you) is the way to go
Original post by Whatsit