The Student Room Group

Does my degree discipline matter?

Hi

I am a science grad currently training in accountancy, but I'm not sure if this is something I want to be in forever. I am considering other areas of business/ management.

But i am concerned about my career prospects in the future. Although my employer took me on without a finance/ business/ economics/ maths background, I'm concerned this will hold me back in the future?

Is there a possibility we'll get 20 years down the line and employers will be requesting degrees in finance, business etc. for progression and I therefore won't be eligible for senior roles?

At the moment most senior roles don't specify a degree course really, but some do. So I am not sure if this is something which is more likely to increase in the future?

Obviously more people hold a degree now so they'll have a good selection to choose from? I'm worried that although my degree discipline is not holding me back now, it may in the future.
Original post by davieslucy367
Hi

I am a science grad currently training in accountancy, but I'm not sure if this is something I want to be in forever. I am considering other areas of business/ management.

But i am concerned about my career prospects in the future. Although my employer took me on without a finance/ business/ economics/ maths background, I'm concerned this will hold me back in the future?

Is there a possibility we'll get 20 years down the line and employers will be requesting degrees in finance, business etc. for progression and I therefore won't be eligible for senior roles?

At the moment most senior roles don't specify a degree course really, but some do. So I am not sure if this is something which is more likely to increase in the future?

Obviously more people hold a degree now so they'll have a good selection to choose from? I'm worried that although my degree discipline is not holding me back now, it may in the future.