The Student Room Group

For people who do English Lit and/or Geography at A-Level

Hi everyone,

I’m currently thinking about my A-level options and I am set on doing English Lit and Geography but I’m still unsure about my third option. It would be really helpful to hear what subjects you are doing alongside the two subjects I have mentioned, so I can get a idea about subject combinations for A-levels, but also career plans you may have in mind.

Career-wise, I’m still undecided on what I think would suit me, but I’ve considered English, law, journalism, PR, marketing, advertising…

Thank you!
Reply 1
Hi, I’m an A Level student currently taking English Lit, Law, History and Psychology (which I nearly chose Geography instead of). I’m looking to do Law at degree level/in my career. In terms of your combinations, I would say look for:

a) Things you enjoy
b) Things you are good at
c) What your career path requires

So if you’re looking into an English, Law, Journalism etc. career, it’s probably helpful to be doing another essay subject alongside English and Geography, such as Philosophy, History, Sociology etc. as such degree courses often say they like these sorts of academic subjects - but maybe look around at different unis to see if they specify any particularly favourable subjects. Ultimately though, the combination is up to what you think you can reasonably do and what you like doing.

Hope this helps :smile:
Reply 2
i do english lit, geography, maths and physics which i know is a unusual combination but it’s good for a variety
I do Biology, Geography and Religious Studies which isn't a particularly standard combination however I picked my A-levels purely from how much I enjoyed the subjects at GCSE which I wouldn't recommend if you have a particular career in mind. A lot of people who do Geography also do Biology and they do have a lot of links and RS is a completely different skill set to the either Biology or Geography.
Original post by laura_blues