The Student Room Group

English literature a-level help

Hi, I'm currently studying English literature at a level and I'm struggling with the subject. My weakest points are definitely my NEA and the poetry. Any help would be appreciated!!! :smile:
Same doing AQA
Reply 2
Original post by Ambergris
It would be helpful if we knew exam board/syllabus option.

Your poetry books...
What specifically is the issues with poetry you find difficult?
Your theme and NEA books...
What specifically is the issue with the NEA?/url]

I'm doing edexcel
For poetry, I do keats and the poems of the decade anthology.

With poetry I always find it difficult to understand the meaning and what effects are caused by poetic techniques. For example, I am able to spot enjambment but I struggle with analysing its effect.
I also lack with my vocabulary in my essays.

For my NEA, I am doing the Bell jar and great gastby. I'm struggling to form a question but my theme is gender roles.
The main issue for my NEA is structuring it and forming a question.
I have asked another student helps you because the they got 15/15 for their NEA. I think they did another board. We are at different stages though we are doing the same board we are doing different syllabuses. I am doing A level in a year and probably won't catch up in terms of theory until mid December.

Lets see...

Still last night and early morning I search around for you. Just hope you are the right person. I had more than one person to respond so in future will do one at a time.

I noted that Edexcel poetry questions are a comparative exam board to pick a feature that is common to both poems and describe how author X does something in relation to Y. The syllabus is important, and so are past paper questions and moderators' reports.

Make sure you read all the coursebooks

Course Exemplar

John Keats: Selected Poems by John Keats
Keats Selected Poems: John Keats, editor John Barnard and the poems of the decade anthology.