The Student Room Group

Getting that Graduate Gig Blog

Inspired by a random forum I have seen on here (by @0le ); I’ve decided to make a graduate job blog which shares my experience of applying for jobs and my progress. It’s felt like a super isolating process: some days it’s good and I’ve got somewhere, some days it’s awful and I feel like I’ll never be employed. I’m sure I’m not alone, so I thought I would put myself out there to possibly help others and feel a bit less alone.

I’m planning on loosely showing where I have applied, giving more details when I’m rejected (lol). Once I have received a role I will upload a link to my Notion which has all the details of the roles that I applied for.

-----
An Introduction to Me

I’m a 21 y/o female undergraduate. I’m a very organised, motivated, and confident type of person. I always love chatting to people (and typing too much) so any questions, please ask! I love all sorts of things, like football, dogs, travel etc.

Locations I am looking at: Anywhere outside of London, but mostly Manchester or Edinburgh.

Roles: I’m looking mostly at business rotation roles or finance, but also some are project management.

-----
My stats

GCSE Grades: 10 A*-A or equivalent, including in Mathematics and English Language.

A Level Grades: Geography (B), French (C), Religious Studies (C) this is where I fall down lol but there were extenuating circumstances

Degree: Expected 2:1 or above in MA Geography and History from a Russell Group university I decided not to give too much although a quick search can find out where. Grades depends how confident I feel on the day but realistically a 1st.

Work experience: Two supermarkets and working in a small business in packaging.

Volunteering: Food bank and an international advocacy charity.

Societies: Editorial roles on the university newspaper, editorial role on a journal, and member of Marketing Society and Literature Association