The Student Room Group

late assignment

i left my assignment until the last minute because i am dumb and i paniced. what happens if it's late? i am in second year.
Reply 1
It depends on your Institutional and departmental regulations, but generally there will be a late penalty applied for each day that the submission is late. There might also be a hard cutoff which results in an automatic fail.
Original post by gjd800
It depends on your Institutional and departmental regulations, but generally there will be a late penalty applied for each day that the submission is late. There might also be a hard cutoff which results in an automatic fail.

oh.. fun times! i want death
Reply 3
Original post by bearsrcool123
oh.. fun times! i want death

If you have some mitigation (or can at least make the case that you do), you should speak to your course administrator or academic advisor and se eif you can get yourself a bit of breathing room.
i left my assignment until the last minute because i am dumb and i paniced. what happens if it's late? i am in second year.

Hi @bearsrcool123,

I recommend you speak to your tutor/head of the module and see whether you can get an extension. Every university has different policies regarding late submission so see what options you have.

Good luck,
Sara :smile:

Hi @bearsrcool123,

As stated previously, it depends on your Institutional and departmental regulations. If you've made an effort to catch up but still don't believe you'll be able to finish a project by the deadline, think about requesting an extension. Know how long you will need a deadline extension and how you intend to meet it before you call your tutor. Your instructor will probably give you a brief extension if you can explain why you've fallen behind but also how you plan to catch up.

I hope this helps,
Jade
Third Year, BA Photography Ambassador