The Student Room Group

Illustration vs Graphic Design

I am currently doing a foundation year in Art and Design and I am stuck between Fine art, Illustration and Graphic Design. Can anyone who does these courses explain the content of the courses and the kind of work they produce?
Original post by sophialilley
I am currently doing a foundation year in Art and Design and I am stuck between Fine art, Illustration and Graphic Design. Can anyone who does these courses explain the content of the courses and the kind of work they produce?

I know multiple people that have done art, and unfortunately it is very difficult to get a job based in that field afterwards, my brothers girlfriend did animation and graphics and loved it, she now works in a marketing team! Illustration is a very niche area too but also seems quite interesting! i’m sorry i’m not much help but thought i’d give a little pointer based on what i know :smile:
Hi there I'm currently studying illustration (3rd year) and I also did an art foundation before uni. I chose illustration because it is very broad and is a good middle ground between fine art and graphics. On my course we spent the first year doing narrative based projects that resulted in 1 or 2 page outcomes, and during this time you do relearn a lot about your art process. Second year I made a children's book (the project brief was to either make a book, a comic or an animation) and I also designed and printed 2 patterns for fabric that I made into tote bags (this brief was very broad and we were allowed to do whatever we wanted). Now that I'm in 3rd year I am planning another children's book (the focus of this project is research and experimentation, so I don't have to make the whole book but I have to show that I have pushed the design as far as it can go) alongside writing my dissertation, and towards the end of the year I will have to do an FMP for a graduation show. My experience of studying illustration is that you're encouraged to experimen