The Student Room Group

26 and never had a girlfriend

I'm a 26 year old guy and have never been in a relationship before. I didn't really think much about it during uni but since I graduated some 16 months ago, I have been having immense difficulty with dating and it's making me feel undesirable. Without trying to sound immodest, I am kind, respectful, respectful, 6' tall, of healthy weight and not that looks are the be all and end all but I wouldn't say I have anything unusual about my appearance. I dabbled with dating apps but didn't get many opportunities through them. In reality, it feels like I don't exist to girls. It makes me feel quite bad seeing other guys get into relationships - obviously, I am happy for them, but it makes me think that there is something about me that is precluding me from having the same.
read the book: "how to click" by Trevor Silvester. It'll give you a lot of insight. Probably just circumstances and you can definitely change that.
I wouldn’t worry too much just yet.

I’m approaching 42, have a disability that’s changed my body substantially. Effectively I’m ruled out.

I’ve just read a thread elsewhere about ‘nice guys’.

I’m the sort that would treat a woman with love, care and respect.

All I ever hear about is the sheer scale of abuse women face from partners. The mind games, making them feel worthless.

Gone is my chance to be a father.

All because I lack confidence and am not a hard man.

Get yourself out there. Don’t be put off if someone isn’t interested. As long as you show respect to whoever you talk to, you have no need to worry.

Don’t do what I did and watch everyone else have a family and be happy. I intend to study next year and one of many reasons is because it will act as a distraction from the above. It will show me I can achieve something. Even if I am invisible to women or just a name and a number elsewhere.