The Student Room Group
De Montfort University
De Montfort University
Leicester
Visit website

Failed optional module in Postgraduate

I am a postgraduate student of De Montfort University. Unfortunately I failed an optional module just by 2 marks. Will university be lenient enough to pass that module? I passed all the other core modules.
Original post by Anonymous
I am a postgraduate student of De Montfort University. Unfortunately I failed an optional module just by 2 marks. Will university be lenient enough to pass that module? I passed all the other core modules.

According to their Academic Regulations for Taught Programmes, here, is seems not. :frown:

Many universities (including De Montfort) have a concept called "Compensation" which allows a module to be treated as a pass even though the pass mark has not been achieved, as long a certain other criteria have been met. (For example, it's very close to a pass, other modules have been passed, the average across modules reaches a certain threshold, etc.) However, Section 2 Paragraph 27 of the referenced document says, "Compensation is not available on postgraduate programmes."

Without knowing more about your circumstances it's difficult to give advice as to what options might be available to you. For example, how far through your postgraduate studies are you? (You say, "I passed all the other core modules", but presumably you mean "...so far", or have you effectively completed your studies now?) How was the module assessed - by written assignments, examinations, or some other method? Without knowing that, it is not clear to what "reassessed" in Section 2 Paragraph 37 would refer when it says, "On postgraduate programmes, including level 7 of integrated master’s programmes, students may be reassessed once in each module." It does seem to make it clear, however, that you have one further opportunity to pass this module (assuming this is not already your second attempt).