The Student Room Group

Social Care

Hi,

I am wondering if anyone is in the same position as me? I’m currently a 2nd year bioscience student but I want to work with people and to help and support them. I was going to try and aim to study medicine but realise I am more interested in the care side of support and less the medical science based side. I would love to work in social care as a social worker, nurse, community worker, or teacher where you can support the mental well-being of people and to get them through hard times.
My degree is starting to feel very pointless, though I can do postgrad study in these areas is it even worth me carrying on?

I don’t want to disappoint my family by stopping now especially with the financial implications of this, but I really don’t know what to do.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!
Original post by Anonymous
Hi,

I am wondering if anyone is in the same position as me? I’m currently a 2nd year bioscience student but I want to work with people and to help and support them. I was going to try and aim to study medicine but realise I am more interested in the care side of support and less the medical science based side. I would love to work in social care as a social worker, nurse, community worker, or teacher where you can support the mental well-being of people and to get them through hard times.
My degree is starting to feel very pointless, though I can do postgrad study in these areas is it even worth me carrying on?

I don’t want to disappoint my family by stopping now especially with the financial implications of this, but I really don’t know what to do.

Bumped and moved to a more appropriate forum for you :smile:
Hi,