The Student Room Group

Can you get into a university course without the UCAS points?

Hello!

I left school 2 years ago; due to mental health, my UCAS points weren't as good as they could have been (I think I got 65) which means I was unable to apply for University.

Since then, I've been self-teaching myself programming in my free time, and I'd like to say I'm at the point where I'm a mid-level programmer, with a lot of skill within *some* fields.

Although, I want to go to Uni (a computing degree) to make it official.

Would my skills I've self taught myself aid me in an application, or is my UCAS points just an insta-decline on most applications? I'm asking because Although I could go into a 1 year, Access course; the money involved is a LOT; it also carves a year out of my life of a course that I don't want to do, just for UCAS points to do what I actually want? I've heard of dream storys of universitys looking past the UCAS points sometimes, although is this a reality of a fever dream? And what can I do to increase my odds if i do end up applying?

Thanks!
As a mature student you can, yes, but as you've only left school 2 years ago you wouldn't yet class as being a mature student.

How about the Open University? There are no entry requirements for the OU:

https://www.open.ac.uk/courses/computing-it/degrees/bsc-computing-it-q62
Original post by PinkMobilePhone
As a mature student you can, yes, but as you've only left school 2 years ago you wouldn't yet class as being a mature student.

How about the Open University? There are no entry requirements for the OU:

https://www.open.ac.uk/courses/computing-it/degrees/bsc-computing-it-q62

I was looking through this and although I would be able to get in *hopefully* I do want to move out and go to university in person, get the whole experience and such!