The Student Room Group

A- Level Combinations For Linguistics

I am in my final year of GCSEs and am applying for A- Levels soon. I want to do linguistics in Uni and I am thinking of taking English Language, Mathematics and Classical Civilisation for A- Levels, but I don’t know if it’s an okay combination?
(Lots of people seem to say an MFL is helpful for Linguistics degree- I’ve taken GCSE German and have a pretty good predicted grade but not keen on taking it for A-Levels.)

I also read Psychology or a Science are good A-levels for Linguistics and am willing to swap out maths or classical civilisation for one of these.

Any advice?
Original post by Asdfghjkl1827
I am in my final year of GCSEs and am applying for A- Levels soon. I want to do linguistics in Uni and I am thinking of taking English Language, Mathematics and Classical Civilisation for A- Levels, but I don’t know if it’s an okay combination?
(Lots of people seem to say an MFL is helpful for Linguistics degree- I’ve taken GCSE German and have a pretty good predicted grade but not keen on taking it for A-Levels.)

I also read Psychology or a Science are good A-levels for Linguistics and am willing to swap out maths or classical civilisation for one of these.

Any advice?

Hi! I did some research for you, and I think you have chosen a great combination! English Language is a staple for linguistics studies, Classical Civilisation is another essay subject, which will help prove to admission tutors you are suited to the course, and in this thread, a poster talked about the benefits of doing A-Levels maths when applying for Linguistics. I hope this helped! :h:
https://www.thestudentroom.co.uk/showthread.php?t=2420739
Original post by Liliette