The Student Room Group

Maths exams -AEA, TMUA, STEP, MAT

I am applying for Maths based undergraduate courses starting in the acedemic year 2024-25. I would like to understand which additional exam will help me strengthen my application. Also which ones are harder and which ones are considered higher in the hierarchy of importance in general.
I am an international student. Do I need to travel to the UK to sit the AEA exams?
It is a bit difficult to understand which exam to attempt as there are so many Maths exams!
Thanks in advance for your advice and suggestions.
Short answer: look at the websites of the universities you want to apply to, it will specify there.

Long answer: You can only take MAT if applying to Oxford (required), Imperial (required if applying before MAT registration deadline), or Warwick (not required - you have to take one test, but you can choose), and if you do take it you can also share you result with Durham and/or Bath.
Anyone can take TMUA, a large range of universities use it but as far as I know none require it. Many will give a lower offer if you do well enough in it.
Anyone can take STEP, which is required for Cambridge, and some others use it similarly to the TMUA.
I don't know about AEA but I imagine it is similar to TMUA.
MAT/TMUA are done in October 2023, STEP/AEA in June 2024.
i agree with yellowleaf, the maths exams you need to take depend on which university you apply to :smile:
Reply 3
Original post by in6
I am applying for Maths based undergraduate courses starting in the acedemic year 2024-25. I would like to understand which additional exam will help me strengthen my application. Also which ones are harder and which ones are considered higher in the hierarchy of importance in general.
I am an international student. Do I need to travel to the UK to sit the AEA exams?
It is a bit difficult to understand which exam to attempt as there are so many Maths exams!
Thanks in advance for your advice and suggestions.