The Student Room Group

GCSE options help

Hi guys,
I need help choosing give options. I am a bright student and want a career in maths.
I am definitely taking:
Maths
English Language
English Literature
Triple Science
German
Geography.

I am also planning on taking history. And my last subject will be between PE (OCR), Business (EDEXCEL) or Computer Science (AQA). Would also like some feedback about history (EDEXCEL). am a strong athlete so PE shouldn't be problem. Just wondering if uni will see it as a "soft" subject especially if I want a career in maths.
I would appreciate any feedback on any of the subjects listed above. Thank you
Hi there,

It sounds like you have a great start to your chosen subjects for a career in math. I think it's great that you're considering history as well, as it can provide valuable context and perspective for your future studies and career. As for the last subject, I would personally recommend Computer Science (AQA) as it is a valuable skill to have in today's technology-driven world, and it could potentially open up even more career opportunities for you in the future.

As for PE, while it may be a fun and enjoyable subject for you, it may not be viewed as seriously by universities as a more academically focused subject. However, if you truly enjoy PE and it doesn't compromise your grades in your other subjects, then it could still be a worthwhile option for you.

Overall, I would encourage you to carefully weigh the pros and cons of each subject and make a decision that aligns with your goals and interests. Good luck with your studies!
Reply 2
Original post by s-s-p
Hi guys,
I need help choosing give options. I am a bright student and want a career in maths.
I am definitely taking:
Maths
English Language
English Literature
Triple Science
German
Geography.