The Student Room Group
Chemistry Research, Durham University
Durham University
Durham
Visit website

Ranking preferences for Durham colleges

Hi

Wondering if anyone could help me out here. I recently got an economics offer from Durham for 2023 intake. I'm an international student. Which college is the "best" (although I know that's highly subjective)? Any answers would be appreciated, I'm so confused.
There is no "best". Remember your teaching will be departmentally organised so it's purely non-academic (e.g. pastoral, living, social) endeavours that are college linked, and I'm fairly certain you can engage in the activities at other colleges anyway.

Most people put University College as their first choice because they like the architecture, and consequently most putting it down end up at another college because it's oversubscribed. There are downsides to University College though, such as actually having to share a room (not just a flat) with someone else at least in first year (literally two beds in the same room), which is quite unusual in the UK (although more common in the US and some other countries).

Have a look at the colleges and see what each offers, and at the end of the day don't worry too much about it because it's not going to make or break your experience at the uni.
(edited 1 year ago)
Chemistry Research, Durham University
Durham University
Durham
Visit website
I agree with @artful_lounger, I would firstly understand if you want a catered or self-catered college. After this the other big difference is Bailey and Hill (it's quite different vibes between Hill and Bailey so understanding which one you prefer is quite important)
Original post by oprahwindfuryy
Hi

Wondering if anyone could help me out here. I recently got an economics offer from Durham for 2023 intake. I'm an international student. Which college is the "best" (although I know that's highly subjective)? Any answers would be appreciated, I'm so confused.

Hi there