The Student Room Group

Quitting A-Level Chemistry

I'm a Y12 student doing Chemistry, Biology, Math and Further Maths. In the future I'm planning on doing Biology and Maths through Natural Sciences or as a joint degree. I know unis do like to have Chemistry for Biology degrees, but I'm really not enjoying it and definitely don't wanna go into Chemistry, so I'm considering swapping it with A-Level Spanish. The deadline to change subjects is the beginning of the spring terms, so I was wondering whether it'd be stupid to quit Chemistry?
Original post by tastierspoon460
I'm a Y12 student doing Chemistry, Biology, Math and Further Maths. In the future I'm planning on doing Biology and Maths through Natural Sciences or as a joint degree. I know unis do like to have Chemistry for Biology degrees, but I'm really not enjoying it and definitely don't wanna go into Chemistry, so I'm considering swapping it with A-Level Spanish. The deadline to change subjects is the beginning of the spring terms, so I was wondering whether it'd be stupid to quit Chemistry?

I'd have a close look at the entry requirements for a Natural Science degree - your choices at the moment are perfect.
Spanish is a subject that you can do as an additional A level in your own time, you cannot do this with Chemistry due to the practicals.

I suggest that you have a chat with your Chemistry teacher and say that you are not really enjoying it, it might be the topic.

My advice is to stick with it and learn to love it - after all without it what would life be?

It depends on the specific degree.

If you're confident that you want to go do bioinformatics at uni, Chemistry shouldn't be necessary.

On the other hand, consider Biological Mathematics degree at Exeter in case you want to diverse away from Natural sciences. It's rare to come across a Biology and Maths joint degree at undergrad level.
Original post by hoyc1