The Student Room Group

Pursuing an economics degree - does it require further maths?

{deleted}
(edited 5 months ago)
Original post by srxsin
I am currently a GCSE student and have recently applied to my sixth forms for A-Level Biology, Chemistry and Maths, (bare in mind this can still be changed on enrolment day) in hopes of doing Pharmacy or Biomedical Engineering.

However, I am now reconsidering as I am interested in working in the financial side of things. I now am considering doing A-Level Maths, Economics and Physics/Politics as I do not want to take 4 A-Levels and do further maths alongside those subjects.

Will not doing further maths put me at a major major disadvantage when applying to university for an economics BSc at a russel group university (Excluding LSE and Oxbridge)? Thanks.

No, it will not put you at a 'major major' disadvantage, particularly if your third A level is a numerate subject like physics. Why don't you want to do economics, maths and FM?
Original post by srxsin
If we do further maths, my school requires us to do 3 A-Levels alongside further maths, I feel like I can get better grades overall by doing 3 A-Levels + EPQ than doing further maths. I am not particularly looking to apply to LSE and Cambridge which are the most competitive for the course and they are the only universities who mention having further maths as being highly desirable/required.

I see. I'd do three A levels then and ditch the EPQ, which is usually a complete waste of time. As you say, FM is only really 'necessary' for a handful of unis, so I wouldn't worry about it too much: maths, economics + one other will be fine.
Original post by srxsin
Alright, thanks. I'd like to study at a Russel Group university such as KCL/UCL/Bath/QMUL/ICL and as far as I know and have researched they do not require further maths and do not mention anything about it on their website, so hopefully I am good to go :smile: