The Student Room Group

Should I do the EPQ?

At the moment I'm already doing 4 subjects which are all essay based, and I'm wondering how on earth I'm going to be able to balance the revision for my subjects and doing the EPQ. Would it be possible for me to have a balance between them? Also, I do Psychology, Sociology, English lit and Spanish, and I'm already finding revision for English and Spanish quite tough, so I'm considering not doing the EPQ if it'll jeopardize my grades... Any advice?
Thanks in advance :smile:
Hi so I have 2 questions/points

1) Why are you doing an EPQ? What does this add to your studies?
i.e. Are you doing the EPQ because its an extra qualification and adds to your UCAS points/because an advisor told you to, or because you genuinely want to?

I did an EPQ and found it really helpful when applying for Uni as it gave me lots to talk about, it also allowed me to write about two subjects I studied in different classes, which was good as I applied for a joint honours degree, so my EPQ let me explain why I felt they worked well together.

But its also a lot of work, its meant to act like an introduction to university style work- no one is going to tell you the answer to your question, or even where to find the answer.

on that note:

2) Do you know what you want to write about already? (this may be linked to q1, but worth being a separate point)

If you know what you want to write about, maybe start talking to a teacher of that subject or the EPQ lead in your school to see if they can offer some advise as to how feasible your idea is, and how much work it might be. Start planning now and thinking about how much time you might want to dedicate, and decide if you're willing to do so.