The Student Room Group

I want to apply to Medicine but, I dont have A level Biology or Chemistry

I am in my final year and I was previously applying to engineering with physics and maths. But, I changed my mind at the end of year 12. By then, it was too late to change my A levels so I'm planning to complete my current A levels and then take a gap year.

During this gap year I intended to do biology and chemistry A levels in order to apply for medicine in uni. However, that would require me to take the full 2 year A level course most colleges offer. I know there aren't really any ways to apply to medicine without Biology or Chemistry but, are there any more efficient ways to complete both chemistry and biology a levels in perhaps 1 year before applying?

But, there wouldn't be any point to studying for one yer because I would still have to apply after getting the results then waiting a year for the offer. So, in the end I would have still taken 2 years off before going to uni. The issue is also the required practicals. I could self-study then take the A levels but, I don't have the facilities to complete required practicals and I'm not sure where I would find any.

I want to get into a good uni and I'm not sure if a double gap year and a delayed application will affect my chances of getting in... Will having taken these A levels during my gap years affect my uni application?
What A-levels did you take? Newcastle has no subject requirements so you can apply there to start with. However for all other medical schools you will need at least one out of biology or chemistry - obviously having both gives you the most options.