The Student Room Group

oxford or cambridge

i'm an average student, in yr 11 and that's because i haven't really put any effort into my lessons or revision. i know i am capable of getting excellent grades , but i must start focusing in lessons , which i intend to start. is it far-fetched to want to study at Oxford or Cambridge for medicine.I have a specific goal and route in mind, and honestly am intelligent enough to get amazing grades but have been lazy and potentially miserable- and this has affected my motivation , my ability to actually care about the present , let alone the future.i also think i had an autistic breakdown:/
I am likely going to attend my local sixth-from , which to be fair has better results for A-level that certain well known grammar schools (in my area) , i checked this on education gov beta site.
i feel like its stupid to want to go to Oxford/Cambridge because i don't feel like I have a chance, i don't know why i am posting this , because no one really knows the future , idk , was hoping someone like me got in and could share their story?
Hey there, thanks for posting a question in the Medicine forum. :biggrin:

The Medicine forum gets a high volume of questions being posted, and some of these are already answered by the resources and Megathreads that members of the community and volunteers have created. This is an automatic post which is designed to highlight these resources. Below is a list of threads and articles that could answer your question (you should be looking in the original post of the megathreads). If one of the below threads is a more relevant place to ask your question, please post a reply in that thread to ask your question. If your query is answered by one of the Megathreads or articles linked below, and you would like us to close this thread for you, please reply to this thread with just the words "thank you". A member of our team will then get it locked.

Megathreads