The Student Room Group

Which is better as a used first car a diesel or a petrol one?

I have started looking for cars for when I pass my practical test and have decided that I am going to get a used car, but I am stuck as to which is better a diesel one or a petrol one. thanks

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
Original post by Amin7
I have started looking for cars for when I pass my practical test and have decided that I am going to get a used car, but I am stuck as to which is better a diesel one or a petrol one. thanks

petrol should be cheaper long term cause of fuel price and it’s better for the environment, i think some diesel cars have a more powerful engine?? i’m not an expert sorry. I’d suggest having a look on auto trader at second hand cars but i think it would be more important to figure out what style/model you’d like and figure out how much insurance would be on different models
Reply 2
Unless you are doing >50 mile trips 5 days a week I would definitely suggest petrol. Petrol will be revvier if youre getting manual, have more power (not torque) usually, cheaper on fuel for shorter journeys. If you get a diesel and do not use it for regular long journeys, it will clog up the DPF filter and require the garage to fix.
Reply 3
Original post by oligti
Unless you are doing >50 mile trips 5 days a week I would definitely suggest petrol. Petrol will be revvier if youre getting manual, have more power (not torque) usually, cheaper on fuel for shorter journeys. If you get a diesel and do not use it for regular long journeys, it will clog up the DPF filter and require the garage to fix.

This really changes depending on if his first car takes petrol or diesel
Reply 4
Original post by cardash
This really changes depending on if his first car takes petrol or diesel

??
Not quite sure what that means
Reply 5
Original post by oligti
??
Not quite sure what that means

for context check the quote in my message