The Student Room Group

A level/IB choices

Hi, I am currently a student in year 11 and I am confused about what a levels/ Ib choices I should pick as I am finding it confusing to decide between going for more humanities based subjects that would be required for a degree such as PPE at Oxford or more science based choices to apply for something like natural sciences at Cambridge/other unis. Is there any possible way I could keep both options open or any advice of choosing between the two as I am not sure which degree I would enjoy more? Thanks!
Please stop making multiple threads on the same topic.

Also you don't need to have done any humanities based subjects to apply to PPE at Oxford, you just need A-level Maths (which is required for natural sciences at Cambridge also).
Original post by guppy22
Hi, I am currently a student in year 11 and I am confused about what a levels/ Ib choices I should pick as I am finding it confusing to decide between going for more humanities based subjects that would be required for a degree such as PPE at Oxford or more science based choices to apply for something like natural sciences at Cambridge/other unis. Is there any possible way I could keep both options open or any advice of choosing between the two as I am not sure which degree I would enjoy more? Thanks!

Hey!

I’m Oliver and am currently a third year in natural sciences at Lancaster University.
Different universities will run natural sciences differently but at Lancaster there is a range of pathways available across all areas of science such as chemistry, biology, physics, maths, psychology, earth science and many more. In first year you get to pick 3 of these pathways which you can then narrow down in future years as your interests progress. The full list of pathways and entry requirements for Lancaster can be found here: https://www.lancaster.ac.uk/natural-sciences/