The Student Room Group

Adult or Mental Health Nursing

Im currently in year 12 doing A level Biology, Psychology and Sociology. Ive always wanted to be an adult nurse. However, Ive recently become very interested in mental health nursing. It is an area that really interests me and I like the idea of building solid relationships with patients. However, I have always been drawn to adult nursing because it is more flexible and I really want to do the practical side of nursing. I read that adult nurses can even perform minor surgeries which sounds amazing. I know that you can still do some practical nursing in mh nursing, however its less. I am also not fond of the idea of seeing lots of people in one day like in adult nursing because you cant form as strong relationships. Im really conflicted with which area to choose. I would do a dual degree however I want to go to the uni closest to me and it doesnt offer a dual degree sadly. Please help!
hi, i’m in my first year of adult nursing. i did the exact same a levels and i was also interested in mental health nursing. i’m currently on my first placement, where i work on a medium/large ward and have been able to interact with and build bonds with my patients already, despite having done only 5 shifts, and there being almost 20 patients. i am enjoying it, however i don’t know how my experience would compare to a student doing a mental health nursing course. if you have any questions just fire away :smile:
Reply 2
Original post by okayykayy