The Student Room Group

What GCSE subjects to choose to become a physicist?

Hey guys! :smile: I'm new to the UK and I've joined in-year in Year 10 so I haven't really had the option to choose my subjects; rather I just told them what I like doing and what subjects I'd like to take so I had no idea about some of the subjects my school offered.
Anyways, apart from the core Maths, Science, English, PE and Religious Studies I'm taking Extended Science (basically Separate/Triple Science), History and French. I've recently got to know that my school also offers Engineering so I've been in a dilemma. I want to pursue a career in Physics and become a physicist or an astrophysicist. I'm fairly good in studies (I'm from India) so I would be able to handle Engineering if I choose it.
Should I change French to Engineering or should I be alright without it? Please help! Thank you in advance :smile:
If you are interested in physics and have a strong desire to pursue a career in that field, then taking engineering courses could be beneficial as they would likely provide you with a deeper understanding of the concepts and applications of physics. However, if you have a passion for French and enjoy learning the language, then it may be worth continuing to study it. Additionally, having a good understanding in French could be beneficial in the future if you decide to study or work in a French-speaking country or in an international field related to French.
This is the first I've heard of Engineering GCSE, haha. It looks pretty cool but I cannot stress enough that it is not necessary to progress to Physics A-level or a physics degree. The option that will help you most is seperate science which you already have, so only swap out French for Engineering if you really want to.

Edit: Something extra I would encourage you to look into is the British Physics Olympiad competitions. They're a good way to get a deeper knowledge of the things you're doing in lesson.
(edited 1 year ago)