The Student Room Group

Nottingham V Leeds V Durham

Hi! Im a international student of Canada, I've received offers for LLB at these 3 uni's, Im having trouble deciding because I've heard wonderful things about all of them. My parents are leading towards Durham because as far as we know of the three thats the most "prestigious" but I've sadly heard there is a bit of a classism, racism and homophobia issue, which for me who's gown up in a white suburb isn't a huge issue but I just dont know. Whats the general consensus on which of these unis is best for a law? I've seen some good stuff on Nottingham as well!
Reply 1
Congratulations on your offers! I also applied to Durham and Nottingham for law. I know that a large proportion of those that go to Durham are from private schools in comparison to other unis here which concerns me however when I visited the uni on an open day I felt all the people there were lovely. It felt like a welcoming environment but that’s my personal experience. Also, Durham is definitely up there in terms of prestige out of the three but all three are great Russell group universities.
Is there specific factors you’re prioritising when it comes to looking at universities? That may help you to find which one to go with
It depends what you are looking for.

In terms of prestige, rankings and employment, Durham does perform the best out of those three. However, they are all really good law schools, though I would say Durham and Nottingham are the best two (not too big of a difference though).