The Student Room Group

Uni of Durham v Uni of Bath v Bristol. Which is better for MSc Management?

I'm an international student, and I have received offers from both universities. Still, I am thoroughly confused about which one to choose as they have similar rankings and course structures since I am not from the UK & can not visit campuses, I would really appreciate it if yall could help me with this. Does being a Russell Group University matter a lot?
(edited 1 year ago)
Hi,
I do feel for you as there are lots of things to consider when thinking about where to do a degree - particularly if you are not from the UK and aren't sure of what the cities are like!
If rankings are similar, and you are okay with both courses structures, then maybe consider some other things.
For example, you mention the Russell Group. Bath is not Russell Group, while Bristol is. The Russell Group basically means that these universities get a lot of money to carry out research and therefore the lecturers/teachers are usually carrying out their own research while engaging with students. This means that you will often be getting knowledge that is very up to date, relevant and from leading experts - however, this doesn't mean that non-Russell Group universities are in anyway bad or worse! Though the Russell Group get a lot of money and are considered quite prestigious, there are only 24 in the UK, meaning A LOT of people go to non-Russell Group universities and get an equal degree etc!
You might want to consider visiting the cities if possible, but I can try to give a bit of a run through of them too. The two cities are really close together but Bristol has a population 4 times as big as Bath. So depending on what sort of environment you'd prefer this is something to consider! I'd also suggest that Bristol probably has better transport links due to being larger.

Hope this helps somewhat!

Abbie
University of Southampton, Postgraduate Ambassador
Reply 2
Hi,