The Student Room Group

WP Grey Area?

I want to word this in the least insensitive and most constructive way possible so please let me know if I’m being inconsiderate or anything like that.

So since year 9 I’ve had some family issues which eventually led to my mum, little brother and I moving into a refuge at the start of year 11 where we stayed for almost half the year. Because I suddenly missed so many days of school my secondary school really stepped up and helped us emotionally and financially (in addition to FSM which I had been receiving for 2 years at that point).

But since we were in temporary accommodation we eventually moved into our first permanent council housing this year which I am very grateful for. However, it’s in what I would consider to be a richer area and because of the distance I moved to another grammar school for sixth form which has historically achieved higher grades and progression to university than my secondary school.

But now, I am no longer eligible for FSM or financial help from my school because of the benefits we receive and my mum’s new band 2 job. We aren’t massively above the limit and we are still struggling financially. There are still days where I have to chose between eating lunch or having enough to pay for my little brother’s train ticket to school.

I’m finding that because of these combination of factors I am usually not eligible for widening participation schemes: I have a parent who has gone to university (that I haven’t seen for almost 3 years now), I don’t live in an area with low progression to university, and I go to a high performing sixth form.

I applied to zero gravity but I was immediately rejected and based on eligibility criteria for some other schemes I will be for them too.

Are there any medicine programmes or schemes that could help someone in my situation? Or is it a ‘win some lose some’ thing?
Hey there, thanks for posting a question in the Medicine forum. :biggrin: