The Student Room Group

Cliquey Atmosphere

Hey,

I’m in my first year at uni, my degree is close knit with only about 30 people (vague on purpose to not be accusing of specific courses) and though I really enjoy the content, I find the other students to be very cliquey. I don’t get involved with that kind of social dynamic because I find it toxic. There are groups of students who are each following group leaders and if you don’t pick one or are accepted in by one, your weird. Its like mean girls goes to uni. People on my course/degree are generally straight from college (17-18) so I think they’re still in the schoolyard mentality. It’s very frustrating and silly/boring for me who is a mature student to be around these cliques. It’s a daily struggle and a lonely atmosphere for an adult who doesn’t want to be involved.
Does anyone have any tips on how to survive this (preferably without turning into a mean girl or something lol) or at least on how to stay sane?
Reply 1
I ended up leaving my old course, and I would be lying if I said that the cliquey atmosphere wasn't one of the things that bothered me. There were a couple of people on my course who I was friendly with, but with the rest, it was like you had to fit a specific model of *insert type of student* and spend all your time with them whenever possible.

I didn't leave solely because of that, obvs. My course wasn't fulfilling and I went through some stuff that I wasn't going to be able to deal with away from home (I'm an international student).

My solution, especially as a mature student, was to spend as much time as I could with other mature students (when possible), as well as other international students. When I had to be around other people on my course, I mostly stuck to the three or four people (out of about 30, like yours) who I was cool with and then was nice but "shy" with the rest.