The Student Room Group
Original post by Anonymous
Hi, I'm an international student looking forward to studying undergraduate in the UK. Typically international students would need to undergo a foundation year before studying their desired course however I want to apply for a direct entry. Currently, I am studying A levels but I haven't taken any GCSEs nor have any qualifications that is equivalent to it (Except for English). Is there still a chance for me?

Have you looked at the entry requirements for your subject on uni websites?
Original post by normaw
Have you looked at the entry requirements for your subject on uni websites?

Yes I have, I looked for the entry requirements for my country as well. My subject requires AAA - AAB in A levels with no specific subjects required or a mix in maths, science and humanities/art but I'm unsure whether or not they also need GCSEs because some don't state it and some do
Yes I have, I looked for the entry requirements for my country as well. My subject requires AAA - AAB in A levels with no specific subjects required or a mix in maths, science and humanities/art but I'm unsure whether or not they also need GCSEs because some don't state it and some do

GCSEs in maths and English (or their equivalent) are standard requirements for most unis. However, I would recommend you email the unis and ask them to clarify their specific GCSE requirements.
Original post by normaw
GCSEs in maths and English (or their equivalent) are standard requirements for most unis. However, I would recommend you email the unis and ask them to clarify their specific GCSE requirements.

Ah I see, thank you. Besides emailing about their specific requirements for GCSEs, what should I do?
Ah I see, thank you. Besides emailing about their specific requirements for GCSEs, what should I do?

Tell them what course(s) you are interested in and provide your academic background, IE what qualifications you have, and are taking currently.
Reply 6