The Student Room Group

LSHTM vs Bristol Epidemiology vs King’s/LSHTM Global Mental Health

Hello! I am an international pharmacy student who is interested in pharmacoepidemiology and psychiatric epidemiology. I applied to postgrad epidemiology programs, and I have a hard time deciding which university to go to.

I've been accepted to the following:
- LSHTM: MSc Epidemiology
- Bristol: MSc Epidemiology
- King's/LSHTM (jointly run): MSc Global Mental Health

Program
- For LSHTM and Bristol epidemiology, LSHTM offers broader course options. However, living in Bristol is slightly more affordable than in London.
- The King's/LSHTM GMH appeals to me because it mainly focuses on non-communicable disease and mental health epidemiology. But, I am a little worried that it might be too concentrated/narrowed and probably affect my job prospects if I need to work in other disease areas later, e.g. being an epidemiologist - exposed to several diseases.

School/Reputation/Connection
After graduation, I plan to work in NGOs/research institutes or pursue a PhD in UK/EU. I might return to work in my hometown later. Therefore, universities' global reputation and connections are also important. LSHTM is a reputable school for public health with massive alums in NGOs, but it is less known to someone outside the field (also in my country). King's is notable for psychiatry, and I heard Bristol is a good university too.

I am really confused now. Which one is the best choice? Appreciate if someone could suggest or share your experience studying at LSHTM, King’s or Bristol. Or should I also consider applying to other university/program? Thank you so much!!
(edited 1 year ago)