The Student Room Group
Students at Cornwall campus, University of Exeter
University of Exeter
Exeter

About how many clubs and activities I can join?

Hi, I received conditional offer for masters(Postgraduate) and I am firm about my decision for Exeter. During my undergraduate, I didn't had the opportunity to get my foot in extra-curriculars like universities in UK have. There are many things I want to continue and many new things I want to learn. Is there any limit for joining the clubs and societies? I am interested in sports as well. I am a complete beginner in all. Does it affect academics significantly? I have one year to explore and study abroad in UK and I want to make the best out of it.
Hiya, firstly congratulations on your offer!

There is no limit to the number of societies you can join, it's really up to you how many you would like to join. However, don't overload yourself with activities and neglect your studying, that's really the only consideration you need to think about!

In my first year I joined around 10 societies, quite a few I only went to a couple of socials, so if you want to regularly go to most of the events a society has, maybe limit yourself to 4 or 5 and see how you go. This year I'm on the committee for 2 societies, and then a member of 1 other, and that's plenty for me, but I'd imagine that if I weren't on committee then I would have more free time for other societies.

Exeter has literally hundreds of societies and sports clubs you could join, and if there's any missing, you can even create your own!

Sports clubs are open to everyone, no matter if you have any previous experience or skill, so don't worry about being a beginner :smile:

I hope this has helped, please let me know if you have any other questions!

Erica
University of Exeter Student Ambassador
Students at Cornwall campus, University of Exeter
University of Exeter
Exeter