The Student Room Group

bsc biomedical science

i'm an alevel student applying for biomed next year, i do psychology, biology, and chemistry and my predicted grades arent too high (ABC with an A in EPQ), i've been told by others and seen online that biomed degrees are like abnormally hard degrees and mainly for people who want to be doctors?

i want to study research behind medicine/cancer/diseases, but i also want to maintain chemistry to some degree and include physiology and maybe elements of nutrition/dermatology/immunology...
my aim is to be some sort of research scientist or an a-level bio/gcse chem teacher (i think)

so two things: do you think i would be able to cope with a biomed degree based on my grades/is it as abnormally difficult as i've heard and do you think based on what i want from a degree that biomed is best suited?

it's been really stressing me out so any help is appreciated :smile:
Reply 1
you should look into biochemistry
Original post by mai0may
i'm an alevel student applying for biomed next year, i do psychology, biology, and chemistry and my predicted grades arent too high (ABC with an A in EPQ), i've been told by others and seen online that biomed degrees are like abnormally hard degrees and mainly for people who want to be doctors?

i want to study research behind medicine/cancer/diseases, but i also want to maintain chemistry to some degree and include physiology and maybe elements of nutrition/dermatology/immunology...
my aim is to be some sort of research scientist or an a-level bio/gcse chem teacher (i think)

so two things: do you think i would be able to cope with a biomed degree based on my grades/is it as abnormally difficult as i've heard and do you think based on what i want from a degree that biomed is best suited?

it's been really stressing me out so any help is appreciated :smile: