The Student Room Group

A Level Business marking principle

How does the marking for A-level Business Studies work? For instance, in paper 3, there are 6 marks for Evaluation. Do I gain all these 6 marks by:

1. Produce an answer that literally meets the requirements for level 3 Evaluation according to the marking scheme (i.e. "• A developed judgment/ conclusion is made in the business context. Developed evaluative comments which weigh up some key arguments in the business context")

or

2. Make 6 developed evaluative points in the business context, one of which is a developed conclusion in the business context.

Please help me answer this question because I'm very confused, especially if you're a teacher or are familiar with Cambridge's way of marking essay questions.
(edited 11 months ago)
Hi!
I'm studying AQA A-level business studies (currently in Y2) so this may not be very specific to your exam board but from my experience of writing evaluative comments, it's usually to argue a limitation to your point.
This also depends on the number of marks given for the question, for example a higher marked question such as a 25 marker (in the case of AQA) would have a much longer evaluation where you analyse your evaluation much more than a 16 marker.
It may not be the same for Cambridges' exam board but I would definitely stick to the mark scheme as they quite literally use this to determine how many marks you'll get.
From what I gather from 1), its a pretty similar structure from what I've mentioned above which, in more simple terms: point, contextualised analysis with chains of reasoning, and an evaluative comment that is also analysed with chains of reasoning (and repeat for a second point)