The Student Room Logo

Keir Starmer reshuffles Labour's shadow cabinet (Sep 2023)

Keir Starmer has reshuffled his shadow ministerial team today.

Some have described this as 'the rise of the Blairites', alongside a sidelining of the party's soft left.


Angela Rayner is now shadow secretary of state for levelling-up, housing and communities (previously shadow Cabinet Office minister).

Shabana Mahmood is now shadow justice secretary (previously national campaign coordinator).

Liz Kendall is now shadow work and pensions secretary (previously shadow social care minister).

Thangam Debbonaire is now shadow culture secretary (previously shadow leader of the House of Commons).

Peter Kyle is now shadow science secretary (previously shadow Northern Ireland secretary).

Pat McFadden is now shadow cabinet office minister and national campaign coordinator (previously shadow chief secretary to the Treasury).

Hilary Benn is now shadow Northern Ireland secretary (previously on the backbenches).

Darren Jones is now shadow chief secretary to the Treasury (previously chair of the business select committee).

Ellie Reeves is now deputy national campaign coordinato (previously junior shadow justice minister).


Lisa Nandy is now shadow international development minister (previously shadow levelling-up secretary).

Steve Reed is now shadow environment secretary (previously shadow justice secretary).

Lucy Powell is now shadow leader of the House (previously shadow culture secretary).

Jon Ashworth is now shadow paymaster-general (previously shadow work and pensions secretary).

Nick Thomas-Symonds is now shadow minister without portfolio (previously shadow trade secretary).

Jim McMahon, Rosena Allin-Khan and Preet Gill leave the shadow cabinet.

(edited 2 months ago)

Quick Reply