The Student Room Group

Long Nights / Dark Nights...anyone else depressed?

Now that we are rapidly heading towards winter is anyone else getting slightly depressed by the long, cold nights that we are enduring and going to have to endure for atleast the next four or five months?

I am studying in night class for A-Levels whilst working full time and personally it is depressing when you come home from work and it is cold, dark and wet.

Is anyone else affected by this time of year and if so what is the best way to get over it?
Reply 1
I have a pretty poor reaction to long cold nights too.

It's especially noticeable when the clocks go back and it's getting dark before 5pm.

If you're really effected by it, maybe you're a sufferer of Seasonal Affective Disorder (SAD)... the medical definition being: "A psychological phenomenon that brings on feelings of depression, fatigue and irritability caused by a lack of sunlight".

Maybe you could consider fitting these kinds of bulbs: http://www.verilux.net/products.htm (there's probably a more local supplier, but that page seemed pretty informative).

Alternatively... I know it sounds cheesy, but watch holiday TV programmes about really warm places. Helps me. :biggrin:
Reply 2
No I'm not - the darker the better...it just means Christmas is approachinG! yayyyyyyyyyyy!!!
Reply 3
LOL - I guess that's an upside.
Alec
LOL - I guess that's an upside.

Well if you have SAD, you're not the only one...I have it too.
you lot certainly are SAD lol, i couldnt describe it better lol.
Unregistered
you lot certainly are SAD lol, i couldnt describe it better lol.

Now you understand why no-one wants you here.
Reply 7
king of swords
Well if you have SAD, you're not the only one...I have it too.

I don't think I can really classify myself as suffering from it, I can just emphasize with some of the symptoms.
Reply 8
Alec
I don't think I can really classify myself as suffering from it, I can just emphasize with some of the symptoms.